Skip to content

Displaced children

Yemen (Al Mazrak camp) – There is something about my camera (or maybe my face) that drew children like a magnet in Al Mazrak, a camp for Yemenis displaced by the conflict between Houthi and government forces in Yemen’s northern regions. A large crowd of displaced children shouting soora -photo in Arabic-would gather around me in no time posing for a photo.

I told myself that children are children everywhere. I does not take that much to draw a smile on their face, no matter the context where they live in.

According to UNHCR, the six-year-old conflict between Houthi and government forces displaced some 350,000 Yemenis within their own borders. Yemen is a country with some 12 million children, representing more than half of its entire population.

